Royal House of Sulu

Screen Shot 2013-03-02 at 06.43.44.png

Official Gazette of the Republic of the Philippines publishes official list of Sultans of Sulu

The Official Gazette of the Republic of the Philippines confirms the claim of Ampun Sultan Muedzul Lail Tan Kiram as Sultan of Sulu.


PRLog (Press Release) - Feb. 26, 2013 - The Royal House of Sulu headed by Ampun Sultan Muedzul Lail-Tan Kiram is pleased with the publication today in the Official Gazette of the Republic of the Philippines of the genealogy of the Sultans of Sulu.

In this official publication of the Republic of the Philippines, the position of His Majesty's father is plainly confirmed as the last reigning Sultan of Sulu and displays Ampun Sultan Muedzul Lail Tan Kiram as the legitimate successor to the throne. This assertion has been repeated many times in the past and it is gratifying to see the confirmation coming from an official organ of the central government in Manila. All other claimants are clearly false pretenders and do not have a legitimate claim.

Ampun Sultan Muedzul Lail Tan Kiram was named Crown Prince upon the coronation of his father, Ampun Sultan Mahakuttah Kiram, in 1974 and duly recognized by then President Ferdinand Marcos via Memo Order 427. At the time of his father's death, Muedzul Lail Tan Kiram assumed the headship of the Royal House and was eventually crowned Sultan in September 2012. As the legitimate holder of the royal throne of the Sultanate, he enjoys broad support among the populace as well as among top military commanders of the Philippine Armed Forces. The Sultan has been a powerful force for good in the region and his leadership continues.

Line of sucession of the Sultans of Sulu of the Modern Era

No Frame


No Frame
No Frame
sultanesmail i
No Frame
No Frame

HM Sultan Moh. Jamalul Kiram II

HM Sultan Mawallil Wasit Kiram

HM Sultan Moh. Esmail E. Kiram I (on right)

HM Sultan Moh. Mahakuttah A. Kiram

HRH Raja Muda Muedzul Lail Tan Kiram

Memo Order 427

Structure of Sultanate